Kelly Green

More than twenty years ago, my grandmother dragged my mom through several shoe stores in search of the perfect pair of kelly green canvas sneakers in order to complete an outfit.  I only remember this because my mom complained so vociferously about this tedious and exhausting mission.

Today I dyed several of my son’s stained t-shirts kelly green and thought of the complexities of parent/child relationships.

Sometimes it felt like the mama lake that my mom occupied was filled with icebergs and sharks…isolation and grief.  But, it was also filled with a sense of adventure, unconditional love and advocacy for her children.

I’m trying to figure out what I’ve dredged out of my mother’s mama lake…and how I can use those dredges to shore up my own lake front.

In the meanwhile, kelly green it is.

 

2 thoughts on “Kelly Green

Jump right in.

