Her Face to the Wind

She sat in the front of the boat
put her face to the wind
savored the tossing of her hair
she kept her eyes on the approaching bridge
eager to see birds nesting below.

D cut the motor for no wake
The wind kept blowing

This love of water and the wind
I am certain she gets from me.

I wonder how a Mama teaches her child to be brave.
It is something that I am not.
Except when it comes to water.
My father used to rent rowboats when he took me to Pennsylvania State Parks.
As a result, water is something I do not fear.

Is that the key?
The magic trick in helping children to be brave?

If it is I will…
throw her on ski slopes
get her skating on the winter ice
encourage her to ride a bike
and teach her to write.

One thought on “Her Face to the Wind

Jump right in.

